Oops, I did it again.

Standard
Oops, I did it again.

Sometimes I lose sight of the fact that every time I am disappointed it is because of an expectation that I have created in this wee little brain of mine. I heard a song last night by an artist that is sorta? localish…. One of the lyrics referred to the fact that as far as water is concerned, he only has half a brain, because the other half IS water… Anywhoo…. His name is Hunter Paye, he is playing at the Alberta Street Pub if you are interested….

I digressed. Where was I?

Ah, yes. Expectations lead to disappointment.

So anyway, I am trying very hard to stay present and enjoy my new experiences and understand that when it comes to everyone else in the world, concentric circles are we.

We all have different agendas yet similar needs at the center; when we expect others to react and/or act the same way as we would and they don’t, we project our disappointment onto them. However, the fault lies in ourselves for aligning our own thoughts and pushing our perceptions onto them.

I recently read a pretty damn good article which I think is (at least partially) at the heart of this soul burn of mine: I postulate if we are are hardwired to empathize with those we love at a neural level, then aren’t we hardwired to assume that they are as well?

Hm.

So I guess what I am working through is that what I am feeling at this moment is in fact self inflicted. And that sucks. Because I probably made the other party feel shitty by letting them know how I felt. But honesty about feelings is better upstream than down. Right?

Right.

Now I shall bathe whilst drinking my beer(s) and contemplate this more deeply in order to let it go.

Cheers.

XOXO

2 responses »

  1. Maybe bathing in beer is the better option 😉

    We’re all so human, I spent the last week doing exactly this until a friend gave me a solid kick up the proverbial and just in time too. Looks like you’ve had your kick as well. Onwards lovely…

    • Thanks, Jane. ❤ You are my soulmate on another continent…Or at least my constant 🙂 It just feels like it has been a really long life sometimes. Oy.

Leave a Reply

