Tetrachromat

Standard
Tetrachromat

And I thought of you today,

in a comparative fashion.

It made me feel nostalgic;

To reflect on what must have

Simply been

my tertiary period;

cause that mud was so deep

It covered your brush guard and bowtie.

 

And I remembered everything

The good

The bad

The ugly.

Things I wish I’d forgot

Things I wish I hadn’t reframed

Eidetic pictures of

Red flags I painted over

Made into romantic pirate flags

 

And I wonder what he smells like

Will it remind me of you

Similar epigenetics;

chemistry

Evolution’s early warning system

These days I naturally rest around DEFCON III

(That’s just yellow these days)

 

And I was just recently informed

Only 2% of women recognize that color

You men, you don’t.

You go straight from blue to red

How fast depends on the green

Green like the quarter panel of your truck

With the slider I floated in and out of

Just to get you a Miller

Goat trails and water bars, right?

 

And I guess innocence was bliss

But this one surpasses those credentials

This one has photographic evidence

Proof that he was there

In fact, he’s already here

In ways you never could be

Not a bootleg version

Some recording you picked up or

trucks that you wrecked

like stories you retold

And I just don’t swallow anymore.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

