@BitchinKitchen Supperclub Slutty Spaghetti

Standard
@BitchinKitchen Supperclub Slutty Spaghetti

I figured it had been a while since I had done a cooking post so I figured with everyone’s concern being elsewhere *ahem, Ravens winning the Superbowl, ahem* it was a good time. Plus, I felt like going outside my comfort zone and eating something I hadn’t eaten since I was 14….ANCHOVIES!

In case you didn’t know this about me, I hate fish…unless its raw and/or tuna. Go figure. So this was a reaaaaaaalllll stretch for me.

I love Nadia G. She is my future 3rd ex-wife. No worries, we stay friends. This is her recipe. I changed a couple things by adding a whole diced shallot, less olives, leaving the tomatoes whole while cooking and using wheat spaghetti ..OH! I also added everything before the tomatoes plus threw on some grated parmesan reggiano….other than that I did exactly as I was instructed 🙂

It’s delicious. And the name? “Spaghetti a la Puttanesca” literally translates as spaghetti as cooked by a whore. YESSSSSS! I love it.  There is a whole back story to this traditional dish, but I will make you find her telling it. It is described in two different episodes. Google is your friend, my friend.

Here is the recipe as described by her here:

INGREDIENTS

  • pound spaghetti
  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • Pinch hot chile flakes
  • clove garlic, minced
  • anchovy fillets, roughly mashed with a fork
  • cups ripe cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 15 kalamata olives, pitted and coarsely chopped
  • heaping tablespoon capers, coarsely chopped
  • Large pinch brown sugar
  • Pinch sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

DIRECTIONS

Cook spaghetti in boiling salted water until it is slightly undercooked, about 1 minute away from being al dente, strain. Heat the olive oil in a large pan on medium heat. Add chile flakes and garlic, saute for 2 minutes, until garlic is fragrant and golden. Add the mashed anchovies and saute for 30 seconds. Then add the cherry tomatoes and saute for an additional 8 to 10 minutes, until the tomatoes begin to create a light sauce. Once the tomatoes have sauced up, mix the olives, capers, brown sugar, sea salt, and freshly ground black pepper into the sauce. Add the cooked spaghetti to the pan, reduce the heat to medium-low and use tongs to stir until the pasta absorbs the sauce, about 3 minutes.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You’re welcome. 😉
Leave a Reply

