Summer wrap up!

Standard
Summer wrap up!

Once upon a time, I would do a wrap up “I have learned” type deal every season/school year/end of summer. Now I maybe get one done once a year, just to take stock and evaluate my personal evolution, growth and to check things off my bucket list. This summer, I have done a few items from each of the previous list and I share (albeit some of them vaguely) with you…

  1. I’m back in therapy and the water is good. I have decided to continue working on myself with the aid of a seemingly objective second party. While I enjoy having someone to bounce things off, it’s both alarming and comforting to have found a therapist that reads me a little too well.
  2. I managed to not get divorced during a period in my relationship in which every fiber of my being said ‘RUUUUUUUUNNNNNNNNNN!!!!’ That may sound like a silly thing to be proud of, but given my track record and the fact that I am the common denominator in all of my relationships, this is HUGE.
  3. I have conquered most of my irrational fears about public transportation and embraced my logical and rational fears about it.
  4. I am participating in a practicum, have enrolled in or have taken classes that I previously had no interest in or didn’t want to take because of how uncomfortable they make me. Wahoo! Growth! “real learning begins when we leave our comfort zone….”
  5. In re: #2, I had reached my critical mass which is also usually an indicator that a divorce is imminent. However, I have managed to cut weight without cutting the relationship. That is fu**ing amazing.
  6. I ran/walked/died throughout an entire 5k on the hottest day of the year. ‘Nuff said.
  7. I spoke in front of a group and didn’t die.
  8. I learned that I can eat meat and lose weight.
  9. I learned that I can NOT eat cheese and bread and NOT die.
  10. I have reestablished one of the most important relationships in my whole life, while seeming to lose dependence on another one….this is still being  reconciled within.
  11. I have written more poetry this summer than in the previous 5.
  12. I have stayed committed to this blog.

I am sure that there are more and I am sure they are much more interesting to me than to you, but maybe something up there can inspire you to change something simple in your world in the quest for a moment of happiness.

“Thousands of candles can be lighted from a single candle, and the life of the candle will not be shortened. Happiness never decreases by being shared.”
~Buddha

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

