I went without the heels this time, @BitchinKitchen….

Standard
I went without the heels this time, @BitchinKitchen….

So I am really getting into this whole supperclub challenge deal. I’m kinda crushin on Nadia G these days…plus no man would have ever got me to cook in heels….

Anyhoo….This week was Creamy Gorgonzola and Portobello Risotto.

The recipe is as follows:

INGREDIENTS

  • 3 cups organic chicken stock
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 4 Portobello mushrooms, diced
  • 1 yellow onion, minced
  • Sea salt
  • 2 cups Arborio rice
  • 3/4 cup good white wine
  • 1/2 cup crumbled gorgonzola
  • 1/3 cup grated Parmigiano-Reggiano
  • Freshly cracked pepper

DIRECTIONS

Bring the chicken stock to a bare simmer in a saucepan.Meanwhile, heat the butter and olive oil in a medium pot over medium heat. Add the garlic and saute until golden, 1 minute. Add the mushrooms, onions and 1 teaspoon sea salt and saute for 8 minutes. Stir in the rice and cook for 2 minutes. Deglaze with the wine and cook until the wine has reduced completely. Ladle in the simmering broth, 1/2 cup at a time, stirring constantly until the rice absorbs all the broth before adding more. Repeat until all the broth has been added and the rice is al dente, about 20 minutes. Stir in the cheeses and a pinch of sea salt and pepper.Spoon the risotto into bowls and enjoy.

Recipe is from: Cookin’ For Trouble by Nadia G., copyright (c) 2011. Published by Ballantine Books.

But I, being me, had to change it up a bit…

For starters, I had to use vegetable broth as the boy child is allergic to poultry, I cut back on the salt because I find Gorgonzola ridiculously salty and I added extra garlic just cause, I am partial to it…also, I added more broth to compensate for the fact that I felt compelled to add some asparagus because the dish looked a little flat and neutral….

I dig the bright green happy little spear trees…(I’m having a Bob Ross moment….won’t you share it with me? all the happy little asparagus spear trees……)

Whoa. Ok back to cooking….The recipe also gave me a good excuse to buy some Cupcake Wine (from Livermore, Ca, where my bestie lives) besides what I have on the rack, cause I don’t stock white wine 🙂

Here’s what it looked like with a few little Jani tweeks:

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

