A casual observation about teenagers in the Pdx/Couv area

Standard
A casual observation about teenagers in the Pdx/Couv area

Last night the girl child and I went to get supplies for a sundae bar for her and a amaretto sour bar for moi. While leaving the parking lot, she said “See all those kids coming from Wendy’s? That’s the new cool hangout for kids at my school.” so I looked, and saw what in my day would have been a group of kids behind Burger Den or Arctic Circle, hiding and smoking. What I realized was that none of them were and would have had difficulty if they tried, as both hands were on their cell phones, texting.

And then it struck me.

I haven’t seen any teenagers smoking in a long time, other than the occasional gutterpunk.

The teenagers I see that are walking, hiding, crouching, congregating, etc. always have cell phones in their hands.

It occurs to me now, as it did last night, that perhaps our need as teens to belong, to be cool, to be oral/tactically fixated is quenched by our texting and social media addictions.

Perhaps, in generations to come, carpal tunnel and curved cervical spine issues will be our problems caused by childhood needs to belong, rather than lung cancer and the related substance issues began by smoking.

I think I can be ok with that.

I believe it balances my dislike of cell phones as referenced here: WHY I HATE CELLS

Methinks perhapst I should rethink my stance on not allowing my kids to have cell phones until they have jobs to pay for them.

Maybe I don’t want them to find other things to do with their hands.

Hm.

2 responses »

  1. Again I totally agree. I see the kids at the bus stop every morning and they all sit in groups, heads down on their phones. In my day we would be doing anything but sitting still, or at least talking with one another, joking about each other’s clothes or degrading someone’s “momma”.. a helluva concept I know..

Leave a Reply

