Mindfulness, Yoga, Meditation and eating….how are they connected?

Standard
Mindfulness, Yoga, Meditation and eating….how are they connected?

I recently began going to yoga again, now that my schedule has been somewhat leveled. I was musing on the fact that I may never lose an ounce from yoga, but I sure feel lighter when I leave. In response to that, one of the wisest people I know said that many people he knows that are good at meditation and yoga become very aware of mindful eating and in that practice, lose weight and become much healthier all around.

It got me thinking.

Mindful eating is something that one has to do on purpose. One has to be “mindful” and eat with purpose and joy. All things I have read about, I mean come on! Anyone who is a well read wannabe couch Buddhist knows what it is but the verb of it, rather than the noun or adjective is the tough part.

I’ve had sensual experiences with food. I was mindful of my eating then, but on another level and with a partner. I have desired to go to one of those blackout restaurants where you eat in total darkness, but my superhero hearing leads me to believe that this would be a disaster of annoyance with other people eating. Hork.

I digress.

Suffice it to say, I have never done it for the sake of nourishing my body or soul. I have never participated in a table prayer to give thanks for any forthcoming nourishment or gave thanks to sweet ancient baby alien space monkey Jebus for what I was about to receive. I have ingested things mindfully and with purpose in what could be called a ritualistic fashion, but not what this is implying.

So I, being me, set out to do some research. Cause that’s how everyone rolls right? I’m such a maven, oy.

Anyhow, I happened across this article:

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/02/08/dining/mindful-eating-as-food-for-thought.html?pagewanted=1&_r=1

“Mindful eating is not a diet, or about giving up anything at all. It’s about experiencing food more intensely — especially the pleasure of it. You can eat a cheeseburger mindfully, if you wish. You might enjoy it a lot more. Or you might decide, halfway through, that your body has had enough. Or that it really needs some salad.” ~  JEFF GORDINIER

I tend to become very mindLESS while eating it is true. I am doing homework, talking, watching tv, listening to a lecture, on my way to work, even arguing with someone, talking on the phone, whatever. I don’t realize I haven’t taken a breath until I am forced to pause and say “whoa, where the eff is my spicy black bean burger?” And I admit it. Sometimes I am sad when I realize my food is gone. Especially if it was something that is my favorite, like a spicy black bean burger with avocado on it.

So in an effort to truly embrace my yoga and meditation and to savor my future spicy black bean burgers, I am going to start being mindful about mindful eating. It shall be joyous.

Ita Da Ki Masu.

(I take this nourishment in gratitude to all beings)

Leave a Reply

