Cell phones are ruining my memory of childhood.

Standard
Cell phones are ruining my memory of childhood.

Today, my kids and I were at the store to buy a Tracfone because my kid is required to have one for competitive dance….riddle me that Batman… and while we were there, I was trying to text someone back about something that needed responded to immediately. I kept having to stop walking to do it. My kids were making fun of me sooooo much because I kept having to stop walking to text.

HAHAHHA mom can’t walk and text…” chanted my daughter.

Um, I haven’t grown up texting. I am pretty good at it I think, but c’mon, my daughter doesn’t remember a time when cell phones weren’t something everyone had. She is literally the only 6th grader she knows without one. I told her that couldn’t possibly be true. One of her teachers pretty much confirmed it. Good grief!

When I was a kid, doing normal or maybe abnormal things (depending on your upbringing, socioeconomic status, geographic area of upbringing, etc) we didn’t have cells. I knew one person that had a car phone. They were a drug dealer. Other bad asses, had “beepers.” But really, no one had cell phones! We had pay phones! They cost a quarter and DIDN’T take credit cards. They took change or you called collect. My kids don’t even know what that means! We used to run amuck, flagging people down for rides, WALKING (gasp) all over hell’s half-acre, and we would know the time by looking at our watches. Or sneaking onto the dock behind May Hardware by Shaver’s beach and calling time. yeah, we did that. We called a phone number that would say, “The time of day is _______” No shit. Really.

We didn’t tweet, twitter, myspace, facebook, hit you back (unless you deserved it), gmail, google+, text, or any of that crap. We had social skills. We made eye contact. We made new friends easier I think. We had to talk to people that we didn’t have phone numbers for. I remember the “cool kids” had their own phone lines. Phones in their bedrooms. Man, did I want to be Jeana Dewey. But you know what? I survived without one. Really. True story.

And the payphones? They looked like this:

My house phone? Looked like this:

I bet you kids can’t dial one. HA

Go ahead, try and text with it!

Can you possibly imagine a world where you don’t know what time it is at all times? Sigh. I miss that.

I got a cell phone at age 26.

I survived until then without one.

Now, the longer I have one the more I can do on it.

The more I am required and compelled to do on it.

Email.

Shop.

Listen to music.

Homework.

Facebook.

WordPress.

Whatever. Oy.

I miss the simplicity of being a 13-year-old smoker at Shaver’s Beach.

Nostalgia is a bitch.

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: A casual observation about teenagers in the Pdx/Couv area « janiswings

  2. When I was a kid, I used to call the “time” number often. There was something comforting about being able to dial a number and not having to worry about contributing to the conversation. Little did I know that my attitude was a precursor to modern young people’s anxieties about actual phone conversation.

    What’s most fascinating to me is how quickly older generations have adopted new technologies. You read or hear stories of teenagers practically begging their parents for attention, only the parents are too busy sending e-mails, texting, or talking on their cell phones. What a strange turn of events!

Leave a Reply

