Another throwback: Kumquat

Standard

I was talking to your mom the other day

She called me her “little kumquat”

Like it had only been a week since we talked

Not 12 years since she last called me her kumquat

And tried to talk me into taking you to Alaska with me:

Maybe I should have, ha

She was always the woman I wanted to be

Strong and powerful, a female Robert Plant,

Oozing sensuality and a wiseness beyond years…

I think she was probably my first girl crush

I used to think her and my dad would be so perfect

But then you and I would have been weird, ha

Such a stark contrast to my own mother:

Always weak and needing a man to fix everything.

Your mom represented everything feminist I wanted

Looking at her now, I suppose I always saw

What it was I needed to see, needed to emulate

It has taken some time and some men and some women

But I think I have it finally figured out, ha

A tall Celtic goddess in my mind,

The Lady Lazarus I pictured:

She is still the wise woman archetype in my dreams,

Imparting wisdom I must already know.

She shed light on how my son is like her own,

Yet still different.

No, I guess she doesn’t envy me.

But I guess I still envy her, ha.

Leave a Reply

