HO HO HO

Standard

So since I am a relative blogging virgin (or atleast newbie) yesterday’s foray into commentary on the occupy issues left me with some really nasty emails, comments and tweets. What is a commie bootlicker anyway?

I digress.

Today I have decided to follow Mr. Nate Shenk’s lead and share some lighthearted Christmas memories 🙂

The first specifically Christmas memory I have is from when I was 2 or 3 in Garland, Texas….I was wearing my silky R2D2 C3PO pajamas, came downstairs and got a strawberry shortcake table. I remember my mom gave me a corndog for breakfast ( I thought it was sooooo weird!) and she served it on one of those old (new then I suppose) square tubberware plates, it was red and I mixed my mustard and ketchup together with my fingers…I got hollared at….Then sometime during the day, at night I think, we watched “The Wizard of Oz” on tv. I didn’t make it all the way through.

The first Christmas I had with my son was spent in Eugene, Oregon. It was my first experience in Oregon that was out of the desert….I fell in love with the Northwest then. We mowed the lawn! Everything was green! It was fantastic! My son was much more interested in army crawling around and eating the pine needles and ornaments and wrapping paper than any of the presents we got him 🙂

The first Christmas with my daughter, she was about the same age as my son during his first Christmas (spring babies). Similar experience, although, I believe she really really liked the lights alot more because she would just stare at them forever, quietly. If you know my daughter or knew her as a baby, quietly is not how she did, or does, ANYTHING>

My best Christmas with my husband, was spent on the coast of Oregon. We came all the way from Twin Falls, Idaho to see the Decemberists in Portland at the Crystal Ballroom and spent a few days going to breweries and messing around on the coast (which is soooo nice in the winter not so much in the summer lol) On Christmas Eve, we ate in a restaurant in Yachats that has since been closed. We sat at a table by the window looking at all the old Rock Concert posters, watching the tide come into the estuary…The sun was setting and this song was playing, it was all very romantic. He was eating spagetti and meatballs and joked about how we should do the lady and the tramp thing…I rolled my eyes and laughed, he is very cheesy that way…And then he proposed. It was like in a movie. Perfection.

Hope your holiday is cheesy and as close to your version of perfection as possible….And if it isn’t, oh well…you can always just fingerpaint on your plate then.

One response »

Leave a Reply

